Concerto Barocco

Looking forward to performing this all Baroque program with Hot Earth Ensemble:

The centerpiece of the program will be the Canadian premiere performance of Concerto Barocco, a new piece by Mark Houghton. This baroque-sounding work for Guitar and Harpsichord is inspired by Italian Baroque composers Vivaldi, Marcello and Corelli. The program also features sonatas for Flute and continuo by Locatelli and Loeillet, a Sonata by Vivaldi for Cello and continuo (arranged for cello and guitar by Daniel Benko), as well as selected Courantes from J.S. Bach’s Cello Suites.

Hope to see you there!

Event Details

  • Date and Time: Sunday, February 5, 2012 at 3:00 p.m.
  • Location: St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church (The Kirk)
  • Admission: $20 regular, $15 senior, $7 student
  • Tickets: Available at: Home on Water Street or at the door.

The Hot Earth Ensemble, composed of Michelle Cheramy, flute, Nathan Cook, cello and Mary O’Keeffe, harpsichord, fosters the appreciation, understanding, and enjoyment of both Baroque music and of the fusion of early and new music.

For artists’ biographies and other information, please visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *